Adenium

Continuous flowering

Description

Adenium
Latin name:
Adenium.
Family:
Apocynaceae.
Homeland:
Native to tropical and southern Africa.

To the genus Adenium belongs to only one species-adenium obese (Adenium obesum), which has several subspecies, which are sometimes considered as independent species. These are stem succulents with a strongly thickened base of the stem. On sale, plants are grafted on oleander. In nature, adenium obese reaches a height of 3 m, in pot culture-50-60 cm. Leaves narrow, obovate lanceolate, leathery, green, shiny. The flowers resemble the flowers of the oleander are very sticky, are collected in small terminal corymbs. They have a tubular Corolla, Carmine or pink, sometimes with a white Central part; occasionally there are completely white flowers. Flowering, as a rule, is very abundant, long, with the exception of the winter dormancy period.

There are many varieties known, among them: 'White' with white flowers, 'Bangkok pink' with white flowers, red along the edge, and 'Variegated' with white-pink flowers and creamy-green leaves. In adenium obese subspecies bohemian (A. O. boheminaum) , or adenium lugardii, leaves larger than the original species. For adenium obese subspecies multi-flowered (A. O. multiflorum) is characterized by particularly abundant flowering; in adenium obese subspecies somali (A. O. somalense) has very narrow, lanceolate bluish-green leaves.

Cultivation

Adeniums are grown in indoor conditions as beautiful flowering plants, often used in bonsai. In the summer, they can be taken out into the open air, but then in the fall they should be removed to the house. The optimal composition of the substrate is a mixture of garden fertile land and peat (2:1). Complete mineral complex fertilizer is added at the rate of 15 g per bucket of land.

For adenium grown as bonsai, use a ready-made bonsai substrate, a mixture of peat and sand (2:2:1) with the addition of 10 g of a complete complex fertilizer per bucket of land. Once a month (except during the dormant period), liquid bonsai fertilizer is added to the water for irrigation in the amount of 10 ml per bucket. To beautifully form the aboveground part, the shoots are slightly pruned at the end of winter, but this should be done very carefully, because poisonous milky juice is released from the plant. Wash your hands thoroughly and keep the plant away from children.

Care

Remove wilted flowers and damaged leaves regularly.

Watering

For adeniums, it is important to accurately observe the irrigation regime. In winter, the rate of irrigation is limited, especially during the dormant period, but not allowing the soil to dry out. In summer the volume of irrigation water is increased by making irrigation strictly regularly. The moisture content of the soil is determined to the touch.

Transplanting

A new pot of adenium is transplanted every 2 years in spring, using a substrate of the same composition.

Reproduction

Seed propagation is very difficult, but it is the only way to get a specimen with a characteristic swollen stem. Usually use cuttings, cutting off the cuttings in June-July and drying it for 3-4 days. Then they are planted in a mixture of peat and sand, taken in equal parts. If you want to speed up the root formation process, treat the lower cut of the cuttings with phytohormones. Seedlings sometimes bloom in the first year after planting.

Location

This plant requires a lot of light. Outside the house, it can be kept in the open sun or in partial shade.

Temperature

It should never fall below 10-12 °C, the optimal temperature is 20-22 °C. In winter, it is recommended to keep the plant at a temperature of 12-14 °C for some time in order to maintain a dormant state. If optimal humidity and ventilation are maintained in the room, the plant will not suffer due to high temperatures.

Diseases and pests

When growing, it is necessary to strictly avoid excess or lack of moisture during watering and lowering the temperature, which can lead to leaf fall. Sometimes worms appear on the underside of the leaves and shoots, draining the plants. Get rid of pests by using one of the anticoccidial drugs.

Acquisition

Adeniums can be purchased in horticultural nurseries with an expanded range of crops. In specialized centers, you can easily find plants grown as bonsai. Choose well-formed seedlings with beautiful glossy foliage and a few already opened buds. Check if they are infected with worms.

Care summary

Requirements and characteristics of the Adenium plant that you need to remember.

Cultivation complex
Watering regular in summer, limited in winter
Transplanting once every 2 years in the spring
Appearance maintenance remove damaged leaves
Location heavily lit
Temperature minimum 10-12 °C, optimal 20-22 °C
Flowering time spring-autumn
Height in pots 50-60 cm, in nature up to 3 m

Photos of varieties and species

Literature

List of sources, entry in the process of writing this article.

  • Adenium // Great Soviet Encyclopedia. — M.: Soviet Encyclopedia, 1969-1978. — 630000 copies.
  • Ilyina E. Ya., Sterligova E. I. Indoor plants and their use in the interior. — Sverdlovsk: Ural University, 1991 — 208 s — 130000 copies. — ISBN 9785752502118
  • Turdiev S. Yu., Vecherko L. I. Flowers in our life. — Alma-Ata: Kainar, 1986. — 217 s — 50000 copies.
  • Chub V. V., Lezina K. D. Complete encyclopedia of indoor plants. — M.: Eksmo, 2003. — 416 s — 7000 copies. — ISBN 9785040060771.
  • Adenium // Indoor and garden plants. — M.: Premiere, 2005. — 1274 s — 300,000 copies. — ISSN 1729-1828.
  • Golovkin B. N. What do plant names say. — M.: Kolos, 1992. — 192 s — 70000 copies. — ISBN 9785100025054.
  • Golovkin B. N. 1000 amazing facts from the life of plants. — M.: AST; Astrel, 2001. — 224 s — 10000 copies. — ISBN 9785170105342, ISBN 9785271030529.

Адениум

Непрерывное цветение

Описание

Адениум
Латинское название:
Adenium.
Семейство:
Кутровые.
Родина:
тропическая и южная Африка.

К роду Адениум (Adenium) принадлежит только один вид - адениум тучный (Adenium obesum), имеющий несколько подвидов, которые иногда рассматривают как самостоятельные виды. Это стеблевые суккуленты с сильно утолщенным основанием стебля. В продаже растения бывают привиты на олеандр. В природе адениум тучный достигает высоты 3 м, в горшечной культуре - 50-60 см. Листья узкие, обратноланцетные, кожистые, зеленые, блестящие. Цветки напоминают цветки олеандра, очень клейкие, собраны в небольшие верхушечные щитки. Имеют трубчатый венчик, карминный или розовый, иногда - с белой центральной частью; изредка встречаются полностью белые цветки. Цветение, как правило, очень обильное, длительное, за исключением периода зимнего покоя.

Известно множество сортов, среди них: 'Белый' с белыми цветками, 'Бангкок розовый' с белыми цветками, по краю красными, и 'Пестрый' с бело-розовыми цветками и кремовато-зелеными листьями. У адениума тучного подв. богемский (А. о. boheminaum), или адениума Лугарда (A. lugardii), листья крупнее, чем у исходного вида. Для адениума тучного подв. многоцветковый (А. о. multiflorum) характерно особенно обильное цветение; у адениума тучного подв. сомалийский (А. о. somalense) очень узкие, ланцетные синевато-зеленые листья.

Выращивание

Адениумы выращивают в комнатных условиях как красивоцветущие растения, часто используют в бонсай. Летом их можно выносить на открытый воздух, но затем осенью следует убирать в дом. Оптимальный состав субстрата представляет собой смесь садовой плодородной земли и торфа (2:1). Полное минеральное комплексное удобрение добавляют из расчета 15 г на ведро земли.

Для адениумов, выращиваемых как бонсай, используют готовый субстрат для бонсай, смесь торфа и песка (2:2:1) с добавлением 10 г полного комплексного удобрения на ведро земли. Раз в месяц (за исключением периода покоя) в воду для полива добавляют жидкое удобрение для бонсай в количестве 10 мл на ведро. Чтобы красиво сформировать надземную часть, побеги в конце зимы слегка обрезают, но делать это следует очень осторожно, потому что из растения выделяется ядовитый млечный сок. Тщательно мойте руки и держите растение подальше от детей.

Уход

Регулярно удаляйте увядшие цветки и поврежденные листья.

Полив

Для адениумов важно точное соблюдение поливного режима. Зимой норму полива ограничивают, особенно в период покоя, не давая, однако, грунту пересыхать. Летом объем поливной воды увеличивают, производя поливы строго регулярно. Влажность почвогрунта определяют на ощупь.

Пересаживание

B новый горшок адениумы пересаживают раз в 2 года весной, используя субстрат того же состава.

Размножение

Семенное размножение - очень сложное, но это единственный способ получить экземпляр с характерным вздутым стеблем. Обычно используют черенкование, отрезая черенок в июне-июле и просушив его в течение 3-4 дней. Затем производят посадку в смесь торфа и песка, взятых в равных частях. Если вы хотите ускорить процесс корнеобразования, обработайте нижний срез черенка фитогормонами. Саженцы иногда зацветают в первый же год после посадки.

Местоположение

Этому растению требуется много света. Вне дома его можно держать на открытом солнце или в полутени.

Температура

Никогда не должна опускаться ниже 10-12 °С, оптимальная температура составляет 20-22 °С. Зимой растение некоторое время рекомендуется держать при температуре 12-14 °С, чтобы соблюсти состояние покоя. Если в помещении поддерживаются оптимальная влажность и вентиляция, растение не пострадает из-за высокой температуры.

Болезни и вредители

При выращивании надо строго избегать избытка или недостатка влаги при поливе и понижения температуры, что может привести к опадению листьев. Иногда на нижней стороне листьев и побегах появляются червецы, истощающие растения. От вредителей избавляются с помощью одного из противококцидных препаратов.

Приобретение

Адениумы можно приобрести в садоводческих питомниках с расширенным ассортиментом культур. В специализированных центрах вы запросто найдете растения, выращенные как бонсай. Выбирайте хорошо сформированные саженцы с красивой глянцевой листвой и несколькими уже раскрытыми бутонами. Проверьте, не заражены ли они червецами.

Сводка по уходу

Требования и характеристики растения Адениум, которые необходимо запомнить.

Выращивание сложное
Полив летом регулярный, зимой - ограниченный
Пересаживание раз в 2 года весной
Поддержание внешнего вида удалять поврежденные листья
Местоположение сильно освещенное
Температура минимальная 10-12 °С, оптимальная 20-22 °С
Цветение весной-осенью
Высота в горшках 50-60 см, в природе до 3 м

Фото сортов и видов

Литература

Перечень источников, используемых в процессе написания данной статьи.