Alnus

Sticky grey or green

Description

Alnus
Latin name:
Alnus.
Family:
Betulaceae.
Homeland:
Europe, Asia, Africa.

The genus Alder (Alnus) includes approximately 35 species of hardy deciduous trees and shrubs. The crown is usually thick, ovate, cylindrical, narrow-pyramidal, and other shapes. The bark is smooth, light and dark brown. Leaves alternate simple, toothed or lobed-toothed. Blooms in early spring before or simultaneously with the opening of the leaves. Male inflorescences - long catkins. Female inflorescences - short spikelets, single or in racemes of 2-6; when ripe, the bract scales turn woody and take on the appearance of small dark brown "cones".

Black alder, or glutinous alder (Alnus glutinosa), is a tree with a height of 10-25 m, with an erect trunk, often divided from the base, with dark brown bark. The leaves are rounded, with a notched tip and a wedge-shaped base. It is characterized by intensive growth in the first years of life. Decorative forms - weeping, pyramidal, golden and others-are widely used in landscaping.

Gray or white alder (A. incana) is a branching shrub (in unfavorable conditions) or tree that forms numerous root shoots and shoots from the stump, 3 to 16 m high, with an erect trunk covered with smooth light gray bark. The leaves are ovate-oblong, with a serrated edge. The flowers bloom in early spring, before the leaves.

Green alder (A. viridis ) is a shrubby species 2-4 m high, with long erect branches. The leaves are ovate-elliptical. Inflorescences appear simultaneously with the leaves - in March-April.

Cultivation

Alder is grown in parks and gardens, many types and forms of it are decorative, gas-resistant, have a late period of leaf fall and are therefore common in landscaping. Plants are planted on a permanent planting site in autumn or spring (in cold winters). Alder is moderately demanding to moisture and soil, responds well to the application of organic fertilizers at the rate of 1-3 kg per plant. Pruning is usually unnecessary, but dry and damaged branches should be removed.

Watering

The plant needs fresh, moist soil. When growing in relatively dry areas and during periods of drought, alder should be watered often and abundantly, first of all - young plantings.

Reproduction

They are mainly propagated by seeds; in spring, they are sown directly into the ground in the fresh air, covering the seeds with a thin layer of humus, and maintaining high humidity. After germination, the seedlings are transplanted several times, leaving the necessary distance between them. They can be planted permanently in 2 years.

Shrubby species can also be propagated by layering, root scions. The first ones are separated from the mother plant when they are well rooted. The second can be planted immediately on a permanent landing site.

Location

Alder trees need a place in the open sun or in light shade.

Temperature

The plant successfully tolerates both high and low air temperatures. Most species have good winter hardiness.

Diseases and pests

The most dangerous pests of black alder include larvae of May and June crustaceans, as well as blue alder leaf beetle, less often alder is damaged by medvedka, wireworm larvae, and scoops. Young alder trees are loved by mice and hares. Among fungal diseases, alder is affected by alder tinder, occasionally by beech cancer.

Specific wood pests include alder weevil and glass weed, alder leaf beetle, and alder ceuthorrhynchus. Chemical treatment with appropriate preparations is effective against pests.

Acquisition

Alder trees are easily found in specialized nurseries and gardening centers. Choose small plants, they are easier to plant in the ground. Check the condition of the seedlings.

Additional information

It takes root best of all

Black alder, or sticky alder, is a very common plant, it is suitable for a variety of soils: loose, clay, and poorly fertile. It grows even in swampy or water-covered areas. Alder is a soil-improving species due to nodules of nitrogen-fixing bacteria on the roots. Alder is suitable for anchoring riverbanks, ravines, and slopes. It can perfectly grow together with willows and poplars. Due to its very extensive fibrous root system and rapid growth, alder is widely used in garden and park construction.

Care summary

Cultivation simple
Watering frequent and plentiful
Transplanting not performed
Appearance maintenance not required
Location in the open sun
Temperature resistant to both low and high temperatures
Flowering time undecorated insignificant
Height up to 20-25 m

Literature

  • Alnus // Great Soviet Encyclopedia. — M.: Soviet Encyclopedia, 1969-1978. — 630000 copies.
  • Ilyina E. Ya., Sterligova E. I. Indoor plants and their use in the interior. — Sverdlovsk: Ural University, 1991 — 208 s — 130000 copies. — ISBN 9785752502118
  • Turdiev S. Yu., Vecherko L. I. Flowers in our life. — Alma-Ata: Kainar, 1986. — 217 s — 50000 copies.
  • Chub V. V., Lezina K. D. Complete encyclopedia of indoor plants. — M.: Eksmo, 2003. — 416 s — 7000 copies. — ISBN 9785040060771.
  • Alnus // Indoor and garden plants. — M.: Premiere, 2005. — 1274 s — 300,000 copies. — ISSN 1729-1828.
  • Golovkin B. N. What do plant names say. — M.: Kolos, 1992. — 192 s — 70000 copies. — ISBN 9785100025054.
  • Golovkin B. N. 1000 amazing facts from the life of plants. — M.: AST; Astrel, 2001. — 224 s — 10000 copies. — ISBN 9785170105342, ISBN 9785271030529.

Ольха

Клейкая серая или зеленая

Описание Ольхи

Ольха
Латинское название:
Alnus.
Семейство:
Берёзовые.
Родина:
Европа, Азия, Африка.

К роду Ольха (Alnus) принадлежит приблизительно 35 видов устойчивых листопадных деревьев и кустарников. Крона обычно густая яйцевидная, цилиндрическая, узкопирамидальная и другой формы. Кора гладкая светло- и темно-бурая. Листья очередные простые, зубчатые или лопастно-зубчатые. Цветет ранней весной до или одновременно с распусканием листьев. Мужские соцветия - длинные сережки. Женские соцветия - короткие колоски, одиночные или в кистях по 2-6; при созревании прицветные чешуи древеснеют и приобретают вид мелких темно-коричневых «шишечек».

Ольха черная, или клейкая (Alnus glutinosa), - дерево высотой 10-25 м, с прямостоячим стволом, часто разделяющимся от основания, с темно-бурой корой. Листья округлые, с выемчатой верхушкой и клиновидным основанием. Отличается интенсивным ростом в первые годы жизни. Декоративные формы - плакучая, пирамидальная, золотистая и другие - широко используются в озеленении.

Ольха серая, или белая (A. incana), - ветвистый кустарник (в неблагоприятных условиях) или дерево, образующие многочисленные корневые отпрыски и поросль от пня, высотой от 3 до 16 м, с прямостоячим стволом, покрытым гладкой светло-серой корой. Листья яйцевидно-продолговатые, с зубчатым краем. Цветки распускаются в начале весны, до листьев.

Ольха зеленая (A. viridis) - кустарниковый вид высотой 2-4 м, с длинными прямостоячими ветвями. Листья яйцевидно-эллиптические. Соцветия появляются одновременно с листьями - в марте-апреле.

Выращивание
Ольхи

Ольху выращивают в парках и садах, многие виды и формы ее декоративны, газоустойчивы, имеют поздние сроки опадения листьев и потому распространены в озеленении. Растения высаживают на постоянное место посадки осенью или весной (в условиях холодных зим). Ольха умеренно требовательна к влаге и почве, хорошо отзывается на внесение органических удобрений из расчета 1-3 кг на растение. Обрезка ей обычно не нужна, но следует удалять сухие и поврежденные ветви.

Полив

Растению требуется свежая влажная почва. При выращивании на относительно сухих участках и в периоды засухи ольху надо поливать часто и обильно, в первую очередь - молодые посадки.

Размножение

В основном размножают семенами; весной их сеют прямо в грунт на свежем воздухе, закрывая семена тонким слоем перегноя, и поддерживают повышенную влажность. После прорастания сеянцы пересаживают несколько раз, оставляя между ними необходимое расстояние. Их можно высаживать окончательно через 2 года.

Кустарниковые виды можно также размножать отводками, корневыми отпрысками. Первые отделяют от материнского растения, когда они хорошо укоренятся. Вторые можно сажать сразу на постоянное место посадки.

Местоположение

Ольхе нужно место на открытом солнце или в легкой тени.

Температура

Растение успешно переносит как высокую, так и низкую температуру воздуха. Большинство видов обладает хорошей зимостойкостью.

Болезни и вредители Ольхи

К наиболее опасным вредителям ольхи черной относятся личинки майского и июньского хрущей, а также синий ольховый листоед, реже повреждается ольха медведкой, личинками проволочника, совками. Молодые деревья ольхи любят мыши и зайцы. Среди грибных заболеваний ольха поражается ольховым трутовиком, изредка буковым раком.

К специфическим вредителям древесины относятся ольховые долгоносик и стеклянница, ольховый листоед, ольховый скрытнохоботник. Против вредителей эффективна химическая обработка соответствующими препаратами.

Приобретение

Ольху легко найти в специализированных питомниках и садоводческих центрах. Выбирайте растения небольшие, их проще высаживать в грунт. Проверьте состояние саженцев.

Дополнительная информация

Приживается лучше всего

Ольха черная, или клейкая, - очень распространенное растение, ей подходит самая разная почва: рыхлая, глинистая, малоплодородная. Она растет даже на болотистых или покрытых водой участках. Ольха - почвоулучшающая порода благодаря клубенькам азотфиксирующих бактерий на корнях. Ольха пригодна для закрепления берегов рек, оврагов и склонов. Она прекрасно может расти вместе с ивами и тополями. Благодаря весьма обширной мочковатой корневой системе и быстрому разрастанию ольху широко используют в садово-парковом строительстве.

Сводка по уходу за Ольхой

Выращивание простое
Полив частый и обильный
Пересаживание не производится
Поддержание внешнего вида не требуется
Местоположение на открытом солнце
Температура устойчиво как к низкой, так и к высокой температуре
Цветение недекоративное незначительное
Высота до 20-25 м

Источники