Eriobotrya japonica

Off-season flowering

Description

Latin name:
Eriobotrya japonica.
Family:
Rosaceae.
Homeland:
Japan.
Alternative names:
Chinese plum,
Japanese plum,
Japanese medlar.

Eriobotrya japonica is also called the Japanese medlar. It is an evergreen tree, growing up to 6-10 m in height, its twisted trunk is covered with brown bark, later turning black and rough. Crown rounded, twigs, flowers and fruits slightly pubescent. Large leathery serrated leaves with depressed veins and a short petiole have an elliptical-lanceolate shape, dark green on top, lighter on the reverse side, covered with a dark brownish down. In autumn and winter, yellowish-white flowers bloom at the ends of the branches of the current year, collected in inflorescences-panicles. In spring, fruits ripen, colored in orange and light -yellow tones. The flesh has a sweet or slightly sweet and sour taste. The core contains several large, hard seeds. There are many varieties: 'Success', 'Golden Bowl', 'Verbena', 'Maltese', 'Montreal', 'Bagheria', 'Red', 'Vanilla', 'Premier', 'Santa Rosalia', 'Tanaka'.

Cultivation

Japanese medlar is grown in gardens as a fruit (more often) or ornamental plant. Less often, it is cultivated in pots, mainly in large containers. Japanese medlar is planted on a permanent planting site in the fall or spring (if the winters are cold). These plants prefer deep and fertile, loamy soil, fertilized with organic substances in the amount of 1-2 kg per plant or full mineral fertilizer-10 g per plant. Potting substrate is made up on 2/3 of the fertile land, on 1/3 from peat, add a complex fertilizer (30 g per bucket) and a small amount of sand. In the period from April to August, liquid top dressing is carried out, mineral fertilizer is diluted in water for irrigation at 20-30 g per bucket. To stimulate fruit formation, Japanese medlar is pruned, and the crown is shaped like a vase by forming pruning. To increase the yield, remove the fruit branches along with the fruits, which are then removed from them.

Low temperatures can negatively affect flowering. Fruit maturation is optimal only in mild climates. For decorative specimens, it is enough to remove dry and damaged branches. When collecting fruits (from April to June), they are separated together with part of the peduncle so that they are stored longer. A coffee substitute is prepared from the seeds of this plant.

Watering

It is necessary during periods of drought, especially for young plants.

Transplanting

Transplanted into a new container, when the roots of the plant are no longer placed in the previous one, in the spring. If transplanting is not possible, you can limit yourself to replacing the surface layer of the earth.

Reproduction

An extremely simple method of propagation is to sow fresh seeds in spring in a seedbed. The next year, the resulting seedlings are planted in fresh air in the open ground. However, plants from seeds begin to bear fruit late - in about ten years. Therefore, especially for fruit varieties, grafting is preferable. In this case, fruiting begins as early as the 4th year.

Location

These plants prefer a place in the open sun, but they are also suitable for partial shade.

Temperature

Japanese medlar is resistant to fluctuations in air temperature.

Diseases and pests

Pests such as aphids and worms sometimes cause significant damage to the plant, sucking out nutrients. Bacterial burns lead to extensive drying, and the affected parts (and sometimes the entire plant) should be removed. This is a dangerous and highly contagious disease, and it must be reported to the local phytopathological service. Spotting (caused by the fungus Fusicladium eriobotryae) occurs on leaves (spots are first light, and then brown, necrotic) and on fruits (spots often acquire a soft consistency). Treatment with copper-containing fungicides is carried out. Called by various functions fungi root rot is especially active when the ground is excessively moist and poorly drained. Reduce watering, and if the plant doesn't recover, get rid of it.

Acquisition

Japanese medlar can be purchased in nurseries specializing in fruit crops, and in horticultural centers. Buy small seedlings, check the condition of the foliage.

Care summary

Cultivation medium difficulty
Watering only in dry conditions
Transplanting in spring
Appearance maintenance not required
Location in the open sun, as well as in partial shade
Temperature resistant to both low and high temperatures
Flowering time autumn-winter
Height up to 6 m

Literature

  • Eriobotrya japonica // Great Soviet Encyclopedia. — M.: Soviet Encyclopedia, 1969-1978. — 630000 copies.
  • Ilyina E. Ya., Sterligova E. I. Indoor plants and their use in the interior. — Sverdlovsk: Ural University, 1991 — 208 s — 130000 copies. — ISBN 9785752502118
  • Turdiev S. Yu., Vecherko L. I. Flowers in our life. — Alma-Ata: Kainar, 1986. — 217 s — 50000 copies.
  • Chub V. V., Lezina K. D. Complete encyclopedia of indoor plants. — M.: Eksmo, 2003. — 416 s — 7000 copies. — ISBN 9785040060771.
  • Eriobotrya japonica // Indoor and garden plants. — M.: Premiere, 2005. — 1274 s — 300,000 copies. — ISSN 1729-1828.
  • Golovkin B. N. What do plant names say. — M.: Kolos, 1992. — 192 s — 70000 copies. — ISBN 9785100025054.
  • Golovkin B. N. 1000 amazing facts from the life of plants. — M.: AST; Astrel, 2001. — 224 s — 10000 copies. — ISBN 9785170105342, ISBN 9785271030529.

Мушмула японская

Внесезонное цветение

Описание

Латинское название:
Eriobotrya japonica.
Семейство:
Розовые.
Родина:
Япония.
Альтернативные названия:
Эриоботрия японская,
Локва,
Шесек.

Эриоботрию японскую (Eriobotrya japonica) называют также японской мушмулой. Это вечнозеленое дерево, вырастающее до 6-10 м в высоту, перекрученный ствол его покрыт корой бурого цвета, позже чернеющей и шероховатой. Крона округлая, веточки, цветки и плоды слегка опушенные. Крупные кожистые зубчатопильчатые листья с вдавленными жилками и коротким черешком имеют эллиптически- ланцетную форму, темно-зеленые сверху, с обратной стороны - светлее, покрыты темным буроватым пушком. Осенью и зимой на концах веток текущего года распускаются желтовато-белые цветки, собранные в соцветия-метелки. Весной созревают плоды, окрашенные в оранжевые и светло-желтые тона. Мякоть имеет сладкий или слегка кисло-сладкий вкус. В сердцевине содержится несколько больших твердых семян. Существует множество сортов: 'Успех', 'Золотая чаша', 'Вербеновая', 'Мальтийская', 'Монреаль', 'Багерийская', 'Красная', 'Ванильная', 'Премьер', 'Санта-Розалия', 'Танака'.

Выращивание

Японскую мушмулу выращивают в садах как плодовое (чаще) или декоративное растение. Реже ее культивируют в горшках, в основном в контейнерах большого размера. Японскую мушмулу высаживают на постоянное место посадки осенью или весной (если зимы холодные). Эти растения предпочитают глубокую и плодородную, суглинистую почву, удобренную органическими веществами в количестве 1-2 кг на растение или полным минеральным удобрением - 10 г на растение. Горшечный субстрат составляют на 2/3 из плодородной земли, на 1/3 из торфа, добавляют комплексное удобрение (30 г на ведро) и небольшое количество песка. В период с апреля по август проводят жидкие подкормки, в воде для полива разводят минеральное удобрение по 20-30 г на ведро. Для стимулирования плодообразования японскую мушмулу обрезают, формирующей обрезкой кроне придают форму вазы. Для повышения урожайности удаляют плодовые ветки вместе с плодами, которые после этого с них и снимают.

Низкая температура может отрицательно сказаться на цветении. Созревание плодов оптимально только в условиях мягкого климата. У декоративных экземпляров достаточно удалять сухие и поврежденные ветки. При сборе плодов (с апреля по июнь) их отделяют вместе с частью плодоножки, чтобы они дольше хранились. Из семян этого растения готовят суррогат кофе.

Полив

Необходим в периоды засухи, особенно молодым растениям.

Пересаживание

Пересаживают в новый контейнер, когда корни растения уже не помещаются в прежнем, весной. Если пересадка не представляется возможной, можно ограничиться заменой поверхностного слоя земли.

Размножение

Предельно простой способ размножения - посев свежих семян весной в семенной почвогрунт. На следующий год полученную рассаду высаживают на свежий воздух в открытый грунт. Однако растения из семян поздно начинают плодоносить - лет через десять. Поэтому, особенно в отношении плодовых разновидностей, предпочтительнее прививка. В этом случае плодоношение начинается уже на 4-й год.

Местоположение

Эти растения предпочитают место на открытом солнце, но им подходит также и полутень.

Температура

Мушмула японская устойчива к колебаниям температуры воздуха.

Болезни и вредители

Такие вредители, как тли и червецы, наносят растению порой значительный ущерб, высасывая питательные вещества. Бактериальный ожог приводит к обширному усыханию, пораженные части (а иногда и все растение целиком) следует удалить. Это опасная и очень заразная болезнь, о ней обязательно сообщают в местную фитопатологическую службу. Пятнистость (вызываемая грибом Fusicladium eriobotryae) проявляется на листьях (пятна сначала светлые, а затем бурые, некротические) и на плодах (пятна часто приобретают мягкую консистенцию). Производят обработку медьсодержащими фунгицидами. Вызываемая различными грибами корневая гниль особенно активно проявляется, когда земля чрезмерно влажная и плохо дренированная. Сократите полив, и, если растение не восстановится, от него избавляются.

Приобретение

Мушмулу японскую можно купить в питомниках, специализирующихся на плодовых культурах, и в садоводческих центрах. Покупайте саженцы небольшие, проверяйте состояние листвы.

Сводка по уходу

Требования и характеристики растения Мушмула японская, которые необходимо запомнить.

Выращивание средней сложности
Полив только в засуху
Пересаживание весной
Поддержание внешнего вида не требуется
Местоположение на открытом солнце, а также и в полутени
Температура устойчиво как к низкой, так и к высокой температуре
Цветение осенью-зимой
Высота до 6 м

Литература

Перечень источников, используемых в процессе написания данной статьи.