Geum

Long-lasting flowering

Description

Geum
Latin name:
Geum.
Family:
Rosaceae.
Homeland:
Europe, North and South America.

The genus Gravilate, or Geum, includes more than 50 ornamental perennial herbaceous species, with about 20 in cultivation, which are suitable for stony gardens and borders. The plant is 30-60 cm tall, with an erect stem, rosette and small stem leaves. The flowers are different, depending on the type, color, bright, simple and double.

Gravilate bright red (Geum coccineum) grows up to 50-60 cm in height. Lower leaves pinnately dissected, stem-sessile trifoliate. Flowers up to 3 cm in diameter of orange-red color bloom in June, and flowering ends in autumn. Garden forms and hybrids with simple, semi-double or double flowers of yellow, orange and scarlet color are bred.

Mountain gravilate (G. montanum) - a high-altitude species up to 30-40 cm high. The flowers are golden yellow in color. The flowering period begins in late spring and lasts until mid-summer.

Creeping gravilate (G. reptans ) is a carpet plant up to 20 cm tall. It has red thin shoots crawling on the ground, from the nodes of which leaves and roots are formed. Leaves are compound; flowers are yellow. It can be used as a groundcover plant.

Boris's gravilate (Geum x borisii ) is a hybrid obtained from crossing creeping gravilate and Bulgarian gravilate (G. bulgaricum) and is well suited for border decoration. It grows up to 30 cm in height. Flowering is long: from May to the end of summer.

The three-flowered gravilate (G. triflorum ) is a dwarf species with strongly indented leaves. Cream or pink color of flowers has a purple hue; there are white flowers with a red border. Flowering begins in July.

Cultivation

Gravilate is grown outside the house, in the open ground. These plants are hardy - they tolerate cold climatic conditions. The land should be fertile, plentifully filled with organic fertilizers, sufficiently moist, but without stagnation of water. Gravilate does not grow well on both dry and waterlogged soils. Planting in the open ground is carried out either in September or in early spring. A distance of 30-40 cm is observed between the plants when planting. The plant can be used for cutting bouquets and composing compositions.

Watering

The land should be kept moderately moist, and watered frequently during hot periods and prolonged droughts.

Reproduction

Propagated by seeds and division of bushes. Seeds are sown in spring in a seedling box filled with soil - a mixture of peat (3/4) and sand (1/4), with the addition of a full mineral fertilizer at the rate of 1.5 g per bucket of soil. As soon as the seedlings grow up, they are transplanted into cups or boxes, where they are kept until they are planted in the open ground, which is produced in September or early spring.

Location

In mild climates, plants prefer partial shade, in cold – open sun.

Temperature

Gravilat tolerates winter cold well. For growth and development, the optimal temperature is 18-25 °C.

Diseases and pests

Poorly drained soil and excessive watering contribute to root rot. In this case, stop watering for a while. If, on the contrary, watering is insufficient and the air humidity is low, a spider mite may appear, which makes the leaves yellow-speckled. Plants are treated with acaricidal preparations and try to maintain moderate humidity around them.

Acquisition

Ready-made seedlings in pots are purchased in the spring in flower nurseries.

Care summary

Cultivation simple
Watering frequent in hot weather
Transplanting not performed
Appearance maintenance remove wilted flowers
Location in the open sun or partial shade
Temperature optimal 18-25 °C
Flowering time spring to autumn
Height from 10-20 cm to 50-60 cm

Literature

  • Geum // Great Soviet Encyclopedia. — M.: Soviet Encyclopedia, 1969-1978. — 630000 copies.
  • Ilyina E. Ya., Sterligova E. I. Indoor plants and their use in the interior. — Sverdlovsk: Ural University, 1991 — 208 s — 130000 copies. — ISBN 9785752502118
  • Turdiev S. Yu., Vecherko L. I. Flowers in our life. — Alma-Ata: Kainar, 1986. — 217 s — 50000 copies.
  • Chub V. V., Lezina K. D. Complete encyclopedia of indoor plants. — M.: Eksmo, 2003. — 416 s — 7000 copies. — ISBN 9785040060771.
  • Geum // Indoor and garden plants. — M.: Premiere, 2005. — 1274 s — 300,000 copies. — ISSN 1729-1828.
  • Golovkin B. N. What do plant names say. — M.: Kolos, 1992. — 192 s — 70000 copies. — ISBN 9785100025054.
  • Golovkin B. N. 1000 amazing facts from the life of plants. — M.: AST; Astrel, 2001. — 224 s — 10000 copies. — ISBN 9785170105342, ISBN 9785271030529.

Геум

Длительное цветение

Описание

Геум
Латинское название:
Geum.
Семейство:
Розовые.
Родина:
Европа, Северная и Южная Америка.
Альтернативное название:
Гравилат.

В род Гравилат, или Геум (Geum), входит более 50 декоративных многолетних травянистых видов, в культуре около 20, которые подходят для каменистых садов и бордюров. Растение высотой 30-60 см, с прямостоячим стеблем, розеточными и небольшими стеблевыми листьями. Цветки различной, в зависимости от вида, окраски, яркие, простые и махровые.

Гравилат ярко-красный (Geum coccineum) вырастает до 50-60 см в высоту. Нижние листья перисторассеченные, стеблевые - сидячие тройчатые. Цветки до 3 см в диаметре оранжево-красного цвета распускаются в июне, и заканчивается цветение осенью. Выведены садовые формы и гибриды с простыми, полумахровыми или махровыми цветками желтой, оранжеватой и алой окраски.

Гравилат горный (G. montanum) - высокогорный вид высотой до 30-40 см. Цветки золотисто-желтого цвета. Период цветения начинается в конце весны и длится до середины лета.

Гравилат ползучий (G. reptans) - ковровое растение высотой до 20 см. У него красные ползучие по земле тонкие побеги, из узлов которых образуются листья и корни. Листья сложные; цветки желтые. Можно использовать как почвопокровное растение.

Гравилат Бориса (Geum х borisii) - гибрид, полученный от скрещивания гравилата ползучего и гравилата болгарского (G. bulgaricum) и хорошо подходящий для оформления бордюров. Вырастает до 30 см в высоту. Цветение длительное: с мая до конца лета.

Гравилат трехцветковый (G. triflorum) - карликовый вид с сильно изрезанными листьями. Кремовая или розовая окраска цветков имеет пурпурный оттенок; бывают белые цветки с красной каймой. Цветение начинается в июле.

Выращивание

Гравилат выращивают вне дома, в открытом грунте. Эти растения зимостойки - переносят холодные климатические условия. Земля должна быть плодородной, обильно заправленной органическими удобрениями, достаточно влажной, но без застаивания воды. Гравилат плохо растет как на сухих, так и на переувлажненных почвах. Высаживание в открытый грунт осуществляют либо в сентябре, либо в начале весны. Между растениями при посадке соблюдается расстояние 30-40 см. Растение можно использовать на срезку для букетов и составления композиций.

Полив

Землю следует поддерживать в умеренно влажном состоянии, в жаркие периоды и при продолжительной засухе поливать часто.

Размножение

Размножают семенами и делением кустов. Семена высевают весной в ящик для рассады, заполненный почвогрунтом - смесью торфа (3/4) и песка (1/4), с добавлением полного минерального удобрения из расчета 1,5 г на ведро грунта. Как только сеянцы подрастут, их пересаживают в стаканчики или ящики, где и держат до высаживания в открытый грунт, которое производят в сентябре или ранней весной.

Местоположение

В мягком климате растения предпочитают полутень, в холодном – открытое солнце.

Температура

Гравилат хорошо переносит зимние холода. Для роста и развития оптимальна температура 18-25 °С.

Болезни и вредители

Плохо дренированная земля и избыточный полив способствуют загниванию корней. В этом случае следует на время прекратить полив. Если же, напротив, полив недостаточный и низкая влажность воздуха, может появиться паутинный клещ, из-за которого листья делаются желто-крапчатыми. Растения обрабатывают акарицидными препаратами и стараются поддерживать вокруг умеренную влажность воздуха.

Приобретение

Готовую рассаду в горшках приобретают весной в цветоводческих питомниках.

Сводка по уходу

Требования и характеристики растения Геум, которые необходимо запомнить.

Выращивание простое
Полив в жаркое время частый
Пересаживание не производится
Поддержание внешнего вида удалять увядшие цветки
Местоположение на открытом солнце или в полутени
Температура оптимальная 18-25 °С
Цветение с весны до осени
Высота от 10-20 см до 50-60 см

Фото сортов и видов

Литература

Перечень источников, используемых в процессе написания данной статьи.