Gillenia

White moths

Description

Gillenia
Latin name:
Gillenia.
Family:
Rosaceae.
Homeland:
North America.
Alternative name:
Porteranthus.

Gillenia trifoliate is an amazing perennial herbaceous plant. It is undeservedly rarely planted in "Russian" gardens. Gilenia has many advantages, the plant is a beautifully leafy compact shrub with straight strong stems that do not require a garter. Numerous elegant white flowers shower gillenia from late May to late June, and in autumn it adorns the garden with its bright foliage. The powerful root system of gillenia provides good nutrition for the same powerful aboveground part of the plant, which reaches a height of 1.2-1.3 m. The stems are thin, strong, and painted in bright colors. purple color. They grow densely and form a very compact bush. From bottom to top, the stems are deciduous. Leaves are dark green opaque opposite almost sessile, trifoliate; leaf lobes are lanceolate-elongated with convex veins. White flowers with five narrow lobes of the perianth (corolla) 1-1. 2 cm long look like small moths perched on a green bush. After flowering, gillenia can be subjected to a topiary haircut, although it is beautiful without it.

Cultivation

The plant is universal: it is suitable for both mass and solitary plantings. It can live in one place for more than 10 years. It grows easily in any soil, does not require special care. It responds well to top dressing, which is carried out in the spring and during the flowering period. For top dressing, a complete mineral fertilizer is used, for example, "Kemira-Combi" with a standard concentration of 10-15 g/m2.

Care

If desired, after flowering can be subjected to a haircut.

Watering

Moderate throughout the season. Gillenia is able to withstand a mild drought.

Reproduction

Propagate vegetatively by dividing the bush and spring cuttings "with a heel". The bush is divided either in spring, when it can be divided into small parts, or in autumn. Autumn plots should be large, so that the plant reliably overwinters. Cuttings are cut from the root neck in the spring if they have 2-3 internodes. They are usually rooted in a micro-shrub.

You can propagate gillenia and sowing seeds. Seeds are harvested late in the fall. Sow them in the fall under the snow or in March indoors.

Location

It grows well in any light, but when planted in an open sunny area, the flowering time is reduced.

Temperature

Winter-hardy crop, no shelter required for winter, frost-resistant.

Diseases and pests

Practically absent.

Additional information

Landing

The best time to plant gillenia is in spring, but you can plant until the end of August. To do this, prepare a landing pit measuring 40 x 40 cm. Fill it with fertile land or compost, add 1 tablespoon of full complex fertilizer and 1 cup of ash. After such a planting, the plant can not be fed for 2 years.

Regular transplanting is not required.

Care summary

Cultivation simple
Watering moderate throughout the season
Transplanting does not require regular use
Appearance maintenance not required
Location anywhere in the garden
Temperature winter hardy, frost-resistant
Flowering time from late May to late June
Height 1.2-1.3 m

Literature

  • Gillenia // Great Soviet Encyclopedia. — M.: Soviet Encyclopedia, 1969-1978. — 630000 copies.
  • Ilyina E. Ya., Sterligova E. I. Indoor plants and their use in the interior. — Sverdlovsk: Ural University, 1991 — 208 s — 130000 copies. — ISBN 9785752502118
  • Turdiev S. Yu., Vecherko L. I. Flowers in our life. — Alma-Ata: Kainar, 1986. — 217 s — 50000 copies.
  • Chub V. V., Lezina K. D. Complete encyclopedia of indoor plants. — M.: Eksmo, 2003. — 416 s — 7000 copies. — ISBN 9785040060771.
  • Gillenia // Indoor and garden plants. — M.: Premiere, 2005. — 1274 s — 300,000 copies. — ISSN 1729-1828.
  • Golovkin B. N. What do plant names say. — M.: Kolos, 1992. — 192 s — 70000 copies. — ISBN 9785100025054.
  • Golovkin B. N. 1000 amazing facts from the life of plants. — M.: AST; Astrel, 2001. — 224 s — 10000 copies. — ISBN 9785170105342, ISBN 9785271030529.

Гилления

Белые мотыльки

Описание

Гилления
Латинское название:
Gillenia.
Семейство:
Розовые.
Родина:
Северная Америка.
Альтернативное название:
Портерантус.

Гилления трехлистная (Gillenia trifoliate) -удивительное многолетнее травянистое растение. Ее незаслуженно редко сажают в «российских» садах. У гиллении множество достоинств, растение представляет собой красиво облиственный компактный куст с прямыми крепкими стеблями, не требующими подвязки. Многочисленные изящные белые цветки осыпают гиллению с конца мая до конца июня, а осенью она украшает сад своей яркой листвой. Мощная корневая система гиллении обеспечивает хорошее питание такой же мощной надземной части растения, достигающей высоты 1,2-1,3 м. Стебли тонкие, прочные, окрашены в пурпурный цвет. Растут они плотно и образуют очень компактный куст. Снизу доверху стебли облиственны. Листья темно-зеленые матовые супротивные почти сидячие, тройчатые; доли листа ланцетно-удлиненные с выпуклыми жилками. Белые цветки с пятью узкими долями околоцветника (венчика) длиной 1-1,2 см похожи на маленьких мотыльков, севших на зеленый куст. После цветения гиллению можно подвергать топиарной стрижке, хотя она красива и без этого.

Выращивание

Растение универсально: пригодно и для массовых, и для солитерных посадок. На одном месте может жить более 10 лет. Легко растет на любой почве, особого ухода не требует. Хорошо отзывается на подкормки, которые проводят весной и в период цветения. Для подкормок используют полное минеральное удобрение, например, «Кемира-Комби» стандартной концентрации 10-15 г/м2.

Уход

При желании после цветения можно подвергать стрижке.

Полив

Умеренный в течение всего сезона. Гилления способна вынести легкую засуху.

Размножение

Размножают вегетативно делением куста и весенними черенками «с пяткой». Куст делят либо весной, когда его можно делить на мелкие части, либо осенью. Осенние деленки должны быть крупными, чтобы растение надежно перезимовало. Черенки срезают с корневой шейки весной при наличии у них 2-3-х междоузлий. Укореняют обычно в микропарнике.

Можно размножать гиллению и посевом семян. Семена собирают поздно осенью. Сеют их осенью под снег или в марте в помещении.

Местоположение

Хорошо растет при любом освещении, однако при посадке на открытом солнечном участке сокращаются сроки цветения.

Температура

Зимостойкая культура, на зиму укрытие не требуется, устойчива к заморозкам.

Болезни и вредители

Практически отсутствуют.

Дополнительная информация

Посадка

Лучшее время для посадки гиллении - весна, но можно сажать до конца августа. Для этого готовят посадочную ямку размером 40 х 40 см. Заправляют ее плодородной землей или компостом, добавляют 1 ст. ложку полного комплексного удобрения и 1 стакан золы. После такой посадки в течение 2-х лет растение можно не подкармливать.

Регулярное пересаживание не требуется.

Сводка по уходу

Требования и характеристики растения Гилления, которые необходимо запомнить.

Выращивание простое
Полив умеренный в течение всего сезона
Пересаживание регулярного не требует
Поддержание внешнего вида не требуется
Местоположение в любом месте сада
Температура зимостойка, устойчива к заморозкам
Цветение с конца мая до конца июня
Высота 1,2-1,3 м

Фото сортов и видов

Литература

Перечень источников, используемых в процессе написания данной статьи.