Kerria

Flowering shrub

Description

Kerria
Latin name:
Kerria.
Family:
Rosaceae.
Homeland:
China.

The genus Kerria (Kerria) consists of a single species, Kerria japonica (Kerria japonica, or Corchorus japonicus), abundantly forming shoots growing from the roots of the plant, with a dense mass of thin, upward-looking branches, first bright green, then grayish, sometimes woody. It is a deciduous plant. The leaves are regular simple oval-lanceolate with a biconvex edge, short-stemmed. Single five-petaled flowers of orange-yellow color bloom in April-May at the ends of branches of the previous year. The fruit is a brownish or dark small achene (a dry fruit with one seed). Variety 'Terry', or 'Flora Captivity', is much more common than the botanical source species. This variety is characterized by double and large flowers; the plant stretches up to 3.5 m in height. Variety 'Variegated', or' Painted', smaller in size; leaves with a creamy white edge, simple flowers.

Cultivation

Japanese kerria is planted both singly and in small groups in parks and gardens, mainly urban, as these plants are very resistant to the adverse environmental conditions of megacities. Less often they are cultivated in containers on balconies and terraces. Planting is carried out from October to March, in cold climates it is better in autumn, in mild climates-in spring. This plant is not too demanding of the soil: both loose, clay, and calcareous soils are suitable.

At the end of flowering, the branches on which the flowers were cut off. New, newly formed ones will be covered with wonderful flowers next season.

Watering

It is necessary for young plants immediately after planting in the ground, during long dry periods and potted specimens.

Transplanting

Plants are grown in pots only in the initial stage: the first 3-4 years. Transplanted into a new container in autumn or late winter (in very cold climates), using a substrate of fertile land (2/3) and a peat-sand mixture (1/3).

Reproduction

Cuttings are most often used. In August-September, cuttings about 15 cm long are taken from the side shoots and planted for root formation in a mixture of sand and peat in equal parts. Next spring, cuttings with a formed root system are planted one at a time in pots. Finally, they can be planted during the next autumn-winter period. You can propagate kerria in the fall by dividing the bush and overgrowth.

Location

A place in the open sun or partial shade is required.

Temperature

This generally unpretentious plant is afraid of prolonged frosts. Therefore, it is placed in a place closed from the winds, for example, near a wall illuminated by the sun.

Diseases and pests

Drying of branches can be caused by fungi of the genera Netria, Phomopsis and Coryneum. The affected parts should be removed. The appearance of necrotic spots on the leaves often causes lesions of the fungus Coccomyces kerriae. Treat the plant with a suitable fungicide.

Acquisition

Japanese curry, especially the 'Terry' variety, is quite easy to find in specialized gardening centers and nurseries. The best time to purchase it is from autumn to spring, at which time the crop can be immediately planted directly in the ground. Choose strong, well-formed plants, even if they are not too small in size; you just need to check that they are healthy.

Care summary

Cultivation medium difficulty
Watering potted plants immediately after planting
Transplanting in autumn or late winter
Appearance maintenance not required
Location in the open sun or partial shade
Temperature afraid of frost
Flowering time April-May
Height up to 3.5 m

Literature

  • Kerria // Great Soviet Encyclopedia. — M.: Soviet Encyclopedia, 1969-1978. — 630000 copies.
  • Ilyina E. Ya., Sterligova E. I. Indoor plants and their use in the interior. — Sverdlovsk: Ural University, 1991 — 208 s — 130000 copies. — ISBN 9785752502118
  • Turdiev S. Yu., Vecherko L. I. Flowers in our life. — Alma-Ata: Kainar, 1986. — 217 s — 50000 copies.
  • Chub V. V., Lezina K. D. Complete encyclopedia of indoor plants. — M.: Eksmo, 2003. — 416 s — 7000 copies. — ISBN 9785040060771.
  • Kerria // Indoor and garden plants. — M.: Premiere, 2005. — 1274 s — 300,000 copies. — ISSN 1729-1828.
  • Golovkin B. N. What do plant names say. — M.: Kolos, 1992. — 192 s — 70000 copies. — ISBN 9785100025054.
  • Golovkin B. N. 1000 amazing facts from the life of plants. — M.: AST; Astrel, 2001. — 224 s — 10000 copies. — ISBN 9785170105342, ISBN 9785271030529.

Керрия

Цветущий кустарник

Описание

Керрия
Латинское название:
Kerria.
Семейство:
Розовые.
Родина:
Китай.

Род Керрия (Kerria) состоит из единственного вида, керрии японской (Kerria japonica, или Corchorus japonicus), обильно образующей поросль, отрастающую от корней растения, с густой массой тонких, устремленных ввысь веток, сначала ярко-зеленых, затем - сероватых, иногда древеснеющих. Это листопадное растение. Листья очередные простые овально-ланцетные с двоякопильчатым краем, короткочерешковые. Одиночные пятилепестковые цветки оранжевато-желтой окраски распускаются в апреле-мае на концах веток предыдущего года. Плод - буроватая или темная маленькая семянка (сухой плод с одним семенем). Сорт 'Махровая', или 'Флоре Плена', распространен гораздо больше, чем ботанический исходный вид. Этот сорт характеризуется махровыми и крупными цветками; растение вытягивается до 3,5 м в высоту. Сорт 'Пестрая', или 'Расписная', меньших размеров; листья со сливочно-белым краем, цветки простые.

Выращивание

Керрию японскую высаживают как поодиночке, так и небольшими группами в парках и садах, главным образом - городских, так как эти растения весьма устойчивы к неблагоприятным условиям окружающей среды мегаполисов. Реже их культивируют в контейнерах на балконах и террасах. Посадку производят с октября по март, в холодном климате лучше осенью, в мягком - весной. Это растение не слишком требовательно к грунту: подходят и рыхлые, и глинистые, а также известковые почвы.

По окончании цветения ветки, на которых были цветки, обрезают. Новые, вновь образующиеся, покроются чудесными цветками в следующем сезоне.

Полив

Необходим молодым растениям сразу же после высаживания в грунт, во время продолжительных засушливых периодов и горшечным экземплярам.

Пересаживание

Растения выращивают в горшках только в начальной стадии: первые 3-4 года. Пересаживают в новую емкость осенью или в конце зимы (в очень холодных климатических зонах), используя субстрат из плодородной земли (2/3) и торфо-песчаную смесь (1/3).

Размножение

Чаще всего используют черенкование. В августе-сентябре берут от боковых побегов черенки длиной около 15 см и сажают для корнеобразования в смесь из песка и торфа в равных частях. Следующей весной черенки с сформировавшейся корневой системой рассаживают по одному в горшки. Окончательно их можно высаживать в течение следующего осенне-зимнего периода. Можно размножать керрию осенью делением куста и порослью.

Местоположение

Требуется место на открытом солнце или в полутени.

Температура

Это в целом неприхотливое растение боится длительных морозов. Поэтому его располагают в закрытом от ветров месте, например около освещенной солнцем стены.

Болезни и вредители

Высыхание веток может быть спровоцировано грибами родов Netria, Phomopsis и Соryneum. Пораженные части следует удалить. Появление некротических пятен на листьях нередко вызывает поражения грибом Coccomyces kerriae. Обработайте растение подходящим фунгицидом.

Приобретение

Керрию японскую особенно сорт 'Махровая' довольно легко найти в специализированных садоводческих центрах и питомниках. Лучший период для ее приобретения - с осени до весны, в это время культуру можно сразу же высаживать непосредственно в грунт. Выбирайте крепкие, хорошо сформировавшиеся растения, можно даже не слишком маленького размера; нужно только проверить, чтобы они были здоровыми.

Сводка по уходу

Требования и характеристики растения Керрия, которые необходимо запомнить.

Выращивание средней сложности
Полив горшечных растений сразу после посадки
Пересаживание осенью или в конце зимы
Поддержание внешнего вида не требуется
Местоположение на открытом солнце или в полутени
Температура боится морозов
Цветение в апреле-мае
Высота до 3,5 м

Фото сортов и видов

Литература

Перечень источников, используемых в процессе написания данной статьи.