Malus decorative

Blooming Cloud

Description

Malus decorative
Latin name:
Malus decorative.
Family:
Rosaceae.
Homeland:
Europe, Far East.

The genus Apple tree (Malus) includes more than 30 species of trees and shrubs. These deciduous plants are characterized by regular oval or elliptical leaves, sometimes with a jagged edge. White, pink and red flowers often appear before the leaves and have different color transitions and even patterns; collected in half-cones or corymbs. Five-petalled with 15-20 stamens, sometimes (in semi-double or double flowers) the latter degenerate into petals. The fruits have different sizes, shapes and colors, are juicy, and in most species are edible.

The flowers of the berry apple tree (Malus baccata) are relatively small, white and fragrant, and in their place small red or yellow fruits are formed, very similar to berries.

The Sargent apple tree (M. sargentii), if it is not grafted on an erect rootstock, is a very branchy shrubby plant with often tangled branches. Simple flowers in pink buds, opening, turn into white and fragrant, and this happens later than in other ornamental apple trees. Bright red fruits stay on the plant for a long time. Hybrid apple variety 'Golden Hornet' is characterized by countless white flowers, followed by bright yellow fruits.

The Hartwig apple tree (Malus x hartwigii ) is a hybrid with distinctive dark chestnut shoots and pointed leaves. Variety 'Lizet' (or 'Lizetta') - medium-sized with dark green leaves with a lilac tint and pinkish-red flowers, in place of which red-chestnut fruits are formed.

The hybrid decorative apple tree 'Abundance' gently fragrant wine-red flowers are collected on 6-7 in a brush. The glossy leaves of the Royal apple tree are chestnut-red in color, and the simple flowers are ruby-red; the small fruits are dark red.

Cultivation

Ornamental apple trees are exclusively garden plants. They are planted in autumn or early spring in carefully prepared soil with the addition of organic fertilizers. Various types of soil are suitable, light loam is better. Top dressing is necessary, especially for young plants; once a year, well-rotted manure or other organic fertilizers are added to the soil.

Care

Young plants should be pruned to encourage branching; in adult specimens, only dry or poorly growing branches are removed. Decorative species are allowed to develop naturally, which contributes to better flowering; only individual branches from the oldest are shortened so that they resume vegetation.

Watering

It is only necessary for young plants, especially immediately after planting or during a prolonged drought.

Reproduction

Seed propagation is very simple, but it does not allow you to preserve the properties of the mother plant - the seedling will differ from its parent. Therefore, hybrid forms should be propagated by grafting (the graft is obtained from the seed) on wild-growing species.

Temperature

These are resistant plants that are only afraid of late frosts.

Diseases and pests

Many diseases of ornamental apple trees are the same as those of fruit trees. Scab manifests itself in the form of olive-green spots on the leaves that then fall, dark ulcers appear on fruits and shoots, the bark cracks. They get rid of it by treating it with drugs based on dithiocarbamates.

Oidium has a whitish moldy patina on its leaves and shoots. Treat with caratan, sulfur-containing or other fungicides.

Honeydew (Armillaria mellea) causes rotting of the roots, which can lead to the death of the plant. Another dangerous disease - rust-is manifested, first of all, if juniper grows nearby. Selected plants that are resistant to one or more of the above diseases are available for sale.

Among the pests, aphids affect shoots and leaves, causing both direct damage (sucking out juice) and indirect, because the rabble settles on the paddy. Very unpleasant is the blood apple aphid, which causes the appearance of drops on branches, as well as their cracking and swelling on the roots. They get rid of it with the help of appropriate insecticides.

Carpocapsa pomonella and Hoplocampa testudinea are less dangerous for ornamental apple trees compared to fruit trees, but it is still better to get rid of them with appropriate insecticidal preparations.

Mites provoke the formation of yellow specks and weave cobwebs on the back of the leaves. In this case, treatment with acaricides is required.

Care summary

Cultivation simple
Watering necessary for young plants and during periods of drought
Transplanting not performed
Appearance maintenance remove withered branches
Location in the open sun
Temperature the plant is only sensitive to late frosts
Flowering time april-may
Height 2 to 10 m

Literature

  • Malus decorative // Great Soviet Encyclopedia. — M.: Soviet Encyclopedia, 1969-1978. — 630000 copies.
  • Ilyina E. Ya., Sterligova E. I. Indoor plants and their use in the interior. — Sverdlovsk: Ural University, 1991 — 208 s — 130000 copies. — ISBN 9785752502118
  • Turdiev S. Yu., Vecherko L. I. Flowers in our life. — Alma-Ata: Kainar, 1986. — 217 s — 50000 copies.
  • Chub V. V., Lezina K. D. Complete encyclopedia of indoor plants. — M.: Eksmo, 2003. — 416 s — 7000 copies. — ISBN 9785040060771.
  • Malus decorative // Indoor and garden plants. — M.: Premiere, 2005. — 1274 s — 300,000 copies. — ISSN 1729-1828.
  • Golovkin B. N. What do plant names say. — M.: Kolos, 1992. — 192 s — 70000 copies. — ISBN 9785100025054.
  • Golovkin B. N. 1000 amazing facts from the life of plants. — M.: AST; Astrel, 2001. — 224 s — 10000 copies. — ISBN 9785170105342, ISBN 9785271030529.

Яблоня декоративная

Цветущее облако

Описание Яблони декоративной

Яблоня декоративная
Латинское название:
Malus decorative.
Семейство:
Розовые.
Родина:
Европа, Дальний Восток.

К роду Яблоня (Malus) относится более 30 видов деревьев и кустарников. Для этих листопадных растений характерны очередные овальные или эллиптические листья, иногда с зубчатым краем. Белые, розовые и красные цветки часто появляются раньше листьев и имеют различные цветовые переходы и даже рисунки; собраны в полузонтики или щитки. Пятилепестковые с 15-20 тычинками, иногда (у полумахровых или махровых цветков) последние перерождаются в лепестки. Плоды имеют разные размеры, форму и окраску, сочные, у большинства видов съедобные.

Цветки яблони ягодной (Malus baccata) относительно небольшого размера, белые и ароматные, а на их месте образуются некрупные красные или желтые плоды, очень похожие на ягоды.

Яблоня Саржента (М. sargentii), если она не привита на прямостоячий подвой, - очень ветвистое кустарниковое растение, у которого ветки часто перепутываются. Простые цветки в бутонах розовые, раскрываясь, превращаются в белые и ароматные, причем это происходит позднее, чем у других декоративных яблонь. Ярко-красные плоды подолгу остаются на растении. Гибридный сорт яблони 'Золотой шершень' характеризуется бесчисленным множеством белых цветков, сменяемых ярко-желтыми плодами.

Яблоня Хартвига (Malus х hartwigii) - гибрид с характерными темно-каштановыми побегами и заостренными листьями. Сорт 'Лизет' (или 'Лизетта') - средних размеров с темно-зелеными листьями с лиловатым отливом и розовато-красными цветками, на месте которых образуются красно-каштановые плоды.

У гибрида декоративной яблони 'Изобилие' нежно благоухающие винно-красные цветки собраны по 6-7 в кисти. Глянцевые листья яблони 'Царственность' каштаново-красного цвета, а простые цветки - рубиново-красные; мелкие плоды - темно-красные.

Выращивание
Яблони декоративной

Декоративные яблони - это исключительно садовые растения. Их сажают осенью или ранней весной в тщательно подготовленную почву с добавлением органических удобрений. Подходят почвы различных типов, лучше легкие суглинки. Необходима подкормка, особенно молодым растениям; раз в год в почву вносят хорошо перепревший навоз или иные органические удобрения.

Уход

Молодые растения следует подстригать, чтобы стимулировать ветвление, у взрослых экземпляров удаляют лишь сухие или неудачно растущие ветки. Декоративным видам дают развиваться естественным образом, что способствует лучшему цветению; укорачивают только отдельные ветви из самых старых, чтобы у них возобновилась вегетация.

Полив

Необходим только молодым растениям, особенно сразу же после посадки или во время продолжительной засухи.

Размножение

Размножение семенами очень простое, но оно не позволяет сохранить свойства материнского растения, - сеянец будет отличаться от своего родителя. Поэтому гибридные формы надо размножать прививкой (привой получают из семени) на дикорастущие виды.

Температура

Это устойчивые растения, которые боятся только поздних заморозков.

Болезни и вредители Яблони декоративной

Многие заболевания декоративных яблонь такие же, как у плодовых. Парша проявляется в виде оливково-зеленых пятен на опадающих затем листьях, на плодах и побегах возникают темные гнойники, кора трескается. От нее избавляются обработкой препаратами на основе дитиокарбаматов.

Оидиум выступает беловатой плесневой патиной на листьях и побегах. Обрабатывают каратаном, серосодержащими или другими фунгицидами.

Опенок медовый (Armillaria mellea) вызывает загнивание корней, что может привести к гибели растения. Другое опасное заболевание - ржавчина - проявляется, в первую очередь, если рядом растет можжевельник. В продаже имеются селекционированные растения, устойчивые к одному или нескольким из вышеназванных заболеваний.

Из вредителей - тли поражают побеги и листья, нанося как прямой вред (высасывание сока), так и косвенный, потому что на пади поселяется чернь. Очень неприятна кровяная яблонная тля, вызывающая появление капов на ветках, а также их растрескивание и наплывы на корнях. От нее избавляются с помощью соответствующих инсектицидов.

Carpocapsa pomonella и Hoplocampa testudinea менее опасны для декоративных яблонь по сравнению с плодовыми, но все же лучше избавиться от них с помощью соответствующих инсектицидных препаратов.

Клещи провоцируют образование желтых крапинок и сплетают паутинки на обратной стороне листьев. В таком случае требуется обработка акарицидами.

Сводка по уходу за Яблоней декоративной

Выращивание простое
Полив необходим молодым растениям и в периоды засухи
Пересаживание не производится
Поддержание внешнего вида удалять увядшие ветки
Местоположение на открытом солнце
Температура растение чувствительно только к поздним заморозкам
Цветение в апреле-мае
Высота от 2 до 10 м

Источники