Tolmiea

Born from the leaves

Description

Tolmiea
Latin name:
Tolmiea.
Family:
Saxifragaceae.
Homeland:
North America.

The Tolmiea genus includes the only stable evergreen perennial species, Tolmiea menziesii. In the cutout of the leaf, where the petiole passes into the leaf plate, new young plants develop. This is a rhizomatous groundcover species with a height of 15-20 cm, a diameter of about 40 cm. Pubescent leaves react quite quickly to unfavorable growing conditions - they turn yellow. At the beginning of summer, tubular light green flowers with reddish pigmentation appear on thin branched shoots 50 cm long. Light green leaves of the variety 'Mottled' are covered with yellowish spots or other patterns, cream or golden in color.

Cultivation

Plants of the genus Tolmiea are grown in the open ground in shady corners of the garden or in pots on balconies and terraces, as well as an indoor crop. They are planted in the ground in autumn or early spring, in fertile and well-drained land, loamy or sandy loam. When planting between plants, maintain a distance of 30-35 cm. When growing in containers, you can use garden soil or a mixture of sand and peat (1:1), or neutral peat (2/3) and sand (1/3) with the addition of a complete mineral fertilizer with trace elements at the rate of 25-30 g per bucket. During the spring-summer period, once a month, about 10 g of complex fertilizer per bucket is diluted in water for irrigation.

Care

Remove dry and damaged parts of the plant.

Watering

During the spring and summer season, water is plentiful, but stagnation of water is unacceptable, since the plant is sensitive to excessive dampness. But throughout the entire period of winter dormancy, the intervals between watering are significantly increased.

Transplanting

Transplanted in the spring, once every 1-2 years, in a pot slightly larger than the old one.

Reproduction

The ability to form new plants on the leaves facilitates vegetative reproduction. You can simply substitute a pot of moist earth under a leaf and place a leaf plate there. It is very easy to separate rooted young specimens from the leaf. Tolmiea can also reproduce with the help of appendages.

Location

Plants of the genus Tolmia are perfectly satisfied with both being in the open sun and in the shade.

Temperature

In winter, you need a cool content, no higher than 10° C. In summer, these plants are resistant to both high and low air temperatures. Variety 'Motley' in winter requires maintaining the temperature at 15° C.

Diseases and pests

Occasionally, on tolmiea, you can observe signs of the appearance of oidium - a fluffy whitish layer on the leaves and stems. It should be treated with sulfur, karathane or other anti-oidium drugs.

Acquisition

Since this is a rare plant, it is better to contact shopping centers that offer a wide range of crops for its purchase. Choose well-formed instances.

Additional information

A natural rarity

Tolmiea Menzies is one of the few plants that have fully formed plants on their leaves (they even have rudimentary roots) that separate from the leaves. The formation of new plants begins in the summer, on the adult mother specimen. When growing in a pot, this happens when the roots completely fill the pot, that is, they lengthen so much that they completely braid the inner walls of the container. New plants, if they are not going to be used for reproduction, must be separated together with the entire leaf or the plants themselves must be stripped. However, it may happen that this list will disappear without your help.

Care summary

Cultivation simple
Watering plentiful and careful in spring and summer
Transplanting in spring once every 1-2 years
Appearance maintenance remove dried parts
Location in the open sun or partial shade
Temperature about 10 °C in winter
Flowering time early summer
Height 15-20 cm

Literature

  • Tolmiea // Great Soviet Encyclopedia. — M.: Soviet Encyclopedia, 1969-1978. — 630000 copies.
  • Ilyina E. Ya., Sterligova E. I. Indoor plants and their use in the interior. — Sverdlovsk: Ural University, 1991 — 208 s — 130000 copies. — ISBN 9785752502118
  • Turdiev S. Yu., Vecherko L. I. Flowers in our life. — Alma-Ata: Kainar, 1986. — 217 s — 50000 copies.
  • Chub V. V., Lezina K. D. Complete encyclopedia of indoor plants. — M.: Eksmo, 2003. — 416 s — 7000 copies. — ISBN 9785040060771.
  • Tolmiea // Indoor and garden plants. — M.: Premiere, 2005. — 1274 s — 300,000 copies. — ISSN 1729-1828.
  • Golovkin B. N. What do plant names say. — M.: Kolos, 1992. — 192 s — 70000 copies. — ISBN 9785100025054.
  • Golovkin B. N. 1000 amazing facts from the life of plants. — M.: AST; Astrel, 2001. — 224 s — 10000 copies. — ISBN 9785170105342, ISBN 9785271030529.

Толмия

Рожденная из листьев

Описание Толмий

Толмия
Латинское название:
Tolmiea.
Семейство:
Камнеломковые.
Родина:
Северная Америка.
Альтернативное название:
Толмея.

Род Толмия (Tolmiea) включает единственный устойчивый вечнозеленый многолетний вид - толмию Мензиса (Tolmiea menziesii). В вырезе листа, где черешок переходит в листовую пластину, развиваются новые молоденькие растеньица. Это корневищный почвопокровный вид высотой 15-20 см, диаметром около 40 см. Опушенные листья довольно быстро реагируют на неблагоприятные условия выращивания - желтеют. В начале лета на тонких ветвистых побегах длиной 50 см появляются собранные в колосья трубчатые светло-зеленые цветки с красноватой пигментацией. Светло-зеленые листья сорта 'Пестрая' покрыты желтоватыми пятнами или иным рисунком, кремового или золотистого цвета.

Выращивание
Толмий

Растения рода Толмия выращивают в открытом грунте в тенистых уголках сада или в горшках на балконах и террасах, а также как комнатную культуру. Их высаживают в грунт осенью или ранней весной, в плодородную и хорошо дренированную землю, суглинистую или супесчаную. При посадке между растениями выдерживают расстояние 30-35 см. В качестве почвогрунта при выращивании в контейнерах можно использовать садовую землю или смесь песка и торфа (1:1), либо нейтрального торфа (2/3) и песка (1/3) с добавлением полного минерального удобрения с микроэлементами из расчета 25-30 г на ведро. На протяжении весенне-летнего периода раз в месяц в воде для полива разводят около 10 г комплексного удобрения на ведро.

Уход

Удаляют сухие и поврежденные части растения.

Полив

Во время весенне-летнего сезона поливают обильно, но застаивание воды недопустимо, так как растение чувствительно к излишней сырости. А вот на протяжении всего периода зимнего покоя значительно увеличивают интервалы между поливами.

Пересаживание

Пересаживают весной, раз в 1-2 года, в горшок чуть большего размера, чем старый.

Размножение

Способность образовывать новые растеньица на листьях облегчает вегетативное размножение. Можно просто подставить горшочек с влажной землей под лист и разместить там листовую пластину. Укоренившиеся молодые экземпляры отделить от листа очень легко. Толмия может размножаться и с помощью отростков.

Местоположение

Растения рода Толмия превосходно устраивает как нахождение на открытом солнце, так и в тени.

Температура

Зимой нужно прохладное содержание, не выше 10° С. Летом эти растения устойчивы как к высокой, так и низкой температуре воздуха. Сорт 'Пестрая' зимой требует поддержания температуры на уровне 15° С.

Болезни и вредители Толмий

Изредка на толмии можно наблюдать признаки появления оидиума - пушистый беловатый слой на листьях и стеблях. Следует производить обработку серой, каратаном или иными препаратами против оидиума.

Приобретение

Поскольку это редкое растение, по поводу его приобретения лучше обратиться в предлагающие широкий ассортимент культур торговые центры. Выбирать следует хорошо сформировавшиеся экземпляры.

Дополнительная информация

Природный раритет

Вид толмия Мензиса - одно из немногих растений, у которых на листьях образуются полностью сформировавшиеся растеньица (у них даже имеются в зачаточном состоянии корни), отделяющиеся от листьев. Образование новых растений начинается летом, на взрослом материнском экземпляре. При выращивании в горшке это происходит, когда корни полностью заполняют горшок, то есть удлиняются настолько, что сплошь оплетают внутренние стенки контейнера. Новые растения, если их не собираются использовать для размножения, нужно отделять вместе со всем листом или обирать сами растеньица. Впрочем, может случиться, что этот лист отпадет без вашей помощи.

Сводка по уходу за Толмиями

Выращивание простое
Полив весной-летом обильный, осторожный
Пересаживание весной раз в 1-2 года
Поддержание внешнего вида удалять высохшие части
Местоположение на открытом солнце или в полутени
Температура зимой около 10 °С
Цветение в начале лета
Высота 15-20 см

Источники